How And Why To Use Tarot Even If You’re Not Spiritual

Catherine Andrews
10 min readNov 8, 2022

5 important reasons.

Photo by Viva Luna Studios on Unsplash

Happy Sunday, Soothers. I often describe the Sunday Soother in part as a newsletter about “practical spirituality,” meaning I like to try to explain more abstract or esoteric spiritual concepts in a grounded and practical way that can reveal to anybody their applications or usefulness. I myself am now a very spiritual person, but up until my mid to late 30s was a very committed atheist. I wasn’t stringent or anything about it, I just hadn’t been raised religious, and honestly had never spent much time thinking about spirituality. My belief system was pretty much, you get born, you try to do good, you go to work, you make money, you die. I guess you could say my spiritual belief system at the time was capitalism, which … looks at society around us … clocks.

Before I became pretty spiritual, as it often goes, I was also pretty lost. I was at a pretty low point in my early/mid-30s: I hated my job; I had just moved back in with my parents to try to save money to quit said hated job and move abroad with my foreign service officer boyfriend at the time, except I had decided to break up with the boyfriend so maybe I was going to accidentally live with my parents forever and become a spinster in my childhood bedroom?; I had had writers block for, oh, five years.

--

--

Catherine Andrews

Teaching awakening + healing through vulnerability + self-compassion. Finding hope in a messy world. Author of the Sunday Soother. http://catherinedandrews.com