I’m 43 years old

Catherine Andrews
5 min readJan 15, 2023

Some thoughts from this year.

Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

Happy Sunday, Soothers. I turned 43 this week, and here are some thoughts.

Nothing matters timeline wise, except that shame tells us it should. I’m 43, and happily partnered yet happily unmarried. I’m 43 and happily childfree, though until about age 37 I was obsessed with the idea of having a kid; looking back, mostly realizing because I thought I should and everybody else was doing it. I’m 43 and my partner is 30 years old; nobody cares. I’m 43 and I started my business at age 40. Starting a business to be an online life coach when you’re 40 after nearly 20 years in a corporate environment when most of your friends around you are successful in the MBA, LinkedIn, Senior Vice President sense, is a real ego trip, my friends, but I did it and survived, and am thriving, even. I’m 43 and just purchased and moved into my first house. I’m equally convinced I would be totally happy just renting for my whole life, it just kind of shook out this way and I have a crap ton of economic privilege. I’m 43 and I can finally see myself at 50, 60, 70 (all god willing), whereas before this past year or two those seemed like literally impossible ways of picturing myself. Now I feel I can settle into them.

I’m 43 and feel like I finally hold the knowledge that nothing really matters, and also everything totally, extremely matters. It’s a fine line.

--

--

Catherine Andrews

Teaching awakening + healing through vulnerability + self-compassion. Finding hope in a messy world. Author of the Sunday Soother. http://catherinedandrews.com